MEMBERS’ NOTES AND INFORMATION

2021-2022 Season Schedule

Rehearsal Schedule – Set One
All rehearsals at
West Valley College, 14000 Fruitvale Ave., Saratoga, CA
Room MU-14 unless otherwise noted

COVID Safety protocols for all players:
-Orchestra members must be vaccinated, and be prepared to show proof of vaccination.
For String players:
-Masks should be worn indoors – throughout rehearsal – at all times
For Wind players:
-Wear masks at all times when not actively playing, and ideally wear one of the masks below while playing (especially important for brass players)
-Bell covers required on trumpets, preferable for other winds
-Brass spit valves emptied onto disposable pads
-Wind instruments seated minimum 6 feet from others; trombones 9 feet

Monday, October 18

7:30 BEETHOVEN
7:50 ELGAR
8:05 STRAUSS SR
8:15 MENDELSSOHN
8:20 BREAK
8:50 RIMSKY-KORSAKOV
9:00 BERLIOZ
9:10 SAINT-SAENS
9:30 LISZT

From Scott:  Thanks for a great rehearsal this past week!
** In the ELGAR, please work on getting to a tempo of quarter = 106
** In Rimsky-Korsakov, I’m confirming woodwinds (clarinets) are slurred in measures 12 & 13

Monday, October 25
Monday, November 1 – POSSIBLE REHEARSAL WITH ASSISTANT CONDUCTOR
Monday, November 8
Friday, November 12 – Dress Rehearsal @ Lincoln Glen Church
Sunday, November 14 – Performance @ 7:00pm @ Lincoln Glen Church

Program:  MARCHING FORWARD
BIZET Les Toreadors 2’
LISZT Ungarischer Sturmmarsch, S.119 3222-4231-tmp-perc-str, 4’
SOUSA Stars and Stripes Forever 4’
STRAUSS SR Radetzky March 3222-4231-2perc-str, 3’
BERLIOZ La damnation de Faust, Rakoczy March 3224-4431-tmp+4-str, 5’
ELGAR Pomp and Circumstance No. 4 3333-4331-tmp+3-2hp-str, 4’
SAINT-SAENS French Military March 3222-4431-tmp+3-str, 4’
MENDELSSOHN Wedding March 3’
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3, II 2222-3200-tmp-str, 15’
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Procession of the Nobles 5’
WILLSON 76 Trombones 5’
VERDI Triumphal March from Aida 3222-4431-tmp+3-str, 7’

Resources: Masks/Bell Covers for wind players
https://www.nemc.com/masks-and-bell-covers/
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Wind+Instrument+Bell+Covers&ref=nb_sb_noss
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Wind+Instrument+masks&ref=nb_sb_noss_2
https://www.amazon.com/Gator-Double-Layer-Magnetized-Performance-GBOM-XSMALLBK/dp/B08H5VKK22

Rehearsal Schedule – Set Two
Monday, November 29
Monday, December 6
Monday, January 31
Monday, February 7
Monday, February 14
Monday, February 21 – NO REHEARSAL (Presidents’ Day)
Monday, February 28
Monday, March 7 – SECTIONAL
Monday, March 14
Friday, March 18 – Dress Rehearsal
Sunday, March 20 – Performance @ 7:00pm

Program:  FANTASY AND FATE
Julian Brown, violin

PIAZZOLLA Libertango str, 5’
BRUCH Scottish Fantasy 2222-4231-tmp+2-hp-str, 30’
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5 3223-2230-tmp-str, 31’

Rehearsal Schedule – Set Three
Monday, April 4
Monday, April 11
Monday, April 18
Monday, April 25
Monday, May 2
Monday, May 9– REHEARSAL WITH ASSISTANT CONDUCTOR
Monday, May 16
Friday, May 20 – Dress Rehearsal
Sunday, May 22 – Performance @ 7:00pm

Program:  SIMPLY INSPIRED
Bill Palmer, violin
Jevon Gegg-Mitchell, conductor (Smetana)

SMETANA The Moldau 3222-4231-tmp+3-hp-str, 12’
VAUGHAN-WILLIAMS The Lark Ascending 2122-2000-1perc-str, 13’
BORODIN Polovtsian Dances 3222-4231-tmp+5-hp-str, 14’
LISZT Les Preludes 3222-4231-tmp+3-hp-str, 16’